Gone Review

By Wednesday, April 25, 2012 12 , , , , Permalink 0
[framed_right img=http://www.moviewriting.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/smallposter_gone.jpg]

T

here’s only one time in the week films can get away with being bad, and that’s a Saturday night. Mid-weekend evenings are reserved for movies that don’t require much thought; it’s the only time I’ll pardon plot holes, allow atrocious acting and excuse sorry scripts.  Despite this broad generalisation, there’s always one movie that is subject to the harsh criticism I reserve for every other day. Gone, the new film by Brazilian director Heitor Dhalia, adds further proof to the theory that Amanda Seyfried’s career has gone significantly down hill since Mean Girls.

Amanda Seyfried plays Jill Parrish, a young woman who lives with her recovering alcoholic sister, Molly (Emily Wickersham). Struggling to forget about her abduction the previous year, Jill returns home from work to find her sister missing. Convinced that it is the same serial killer who kidnapped her two years ago, Jill takes it upon herself to track him down and save her sister. Gone, a suspense thriller, sees Jill struggle against the authorities to prove her suspicions are correct and save her sister before sundown.

Gone is as much as a thriller as The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is a family film. Slow paced and predictable, it hardly offers anything new to the genre. Considerably shorter than many other films currently on general release; one hour and 34 minutes still feels far too long. The supporting cast contribute nothing to the film; made up of vaguely recognisable faces (Jennifer Carpenter from Dexter, Daniel Sunjata from Grey’s Anatomy) that not only lack credibility, but are also void of any chemistry. Still, it was nice to see Wes Bentley again (recently of The Hunger Games fame), even though his character comes across conflicted and confused. Despite her faults; Seyfried manages to play the unhinged, irritating Jill with considerable conviction.

Delivering lines that would have the suffragettes rolling in their graves, Amanda Seyfried as Jill plays crazy surprisingly well. I still wouldn’t recommend Gone on her performance alone. Dull, devoid of any suspense and incredibly cliched, Gone is certainly one to avoid; especially on a Saturday night. It will amount to nothing but disappointment, and a general embarrassment that educated, seemingly bright female characters slip so readily into crazy territory.

 

12 Comments
  • Asrap
    April 25, 2012

    “Amanda Seyfried’s career has gone significantly down hill since Mean Girls.” <– that puts things into perspective because Mean Girls was a long time ago already.
    The movie doesn't really seems to have anything appealing about it and I don't think I have any interest at all in viewing it.

    • Amy
      April 26, 2012

      Thanks for your comment, Asrap!
      I loved Mean Girls, it’s such a shame her performances have been so bad since then. I wouldn’t recommend seeing Gone, it’s just so very blah.

  • Fernando Quintero
    April 25, 2012

    Great review, Amy! I think Amanda is far too talented for the roles she chooses. Mean Girls is probably her best movie. Mamma Mia comes next (it’s not perfect but still pretty enjoyable) but now she seems bent on starring in stinkers. In Time was the last film of hers I watched. It had a pretty good concept but the director didn’t do it justice completely. She was just OK in that role. I hope she reverses her latest career trend with the end-of-the-year Les Misérables.

    • Amy
      April 26, 2012

      Thanks very much Fernando. I haven’t seen Mamma Mia but I’m not such a fan of Abba so not entirely sure I’d enjoy it as much as others. I agree, Seyfried was okay in In Time but it was still a let down for me – I expected the film to be so much better, it had great potential.

      Let’s see how she does in Les Mis, fingers crossed her career will be heading in the right direction again by the time we get those reviews out :)

  • sati
    April 26, 2012

    Great review! For me the movie poster alone is enough to stay away from this one. Seyfried really choses some awful films to star in lately, even when she is good as in Chloe she is a complete miscast. I don’t even remember last time she was in a great film.

    • Amy
      April 26, 2012

      Thanks Sati! Yes, the poster is bad enough. Seyfried really needs to consider getting a new agent, much like Liam Neeson!

  • Peter
    April 27, 2012

    Having not seen the film, and not planning to now, I think it’s fair to say that any plot that revolves around finding someone that’s missing/kidnapped (with the exception of Taken which is amazing) will always fall into one of three categories: 1) Predictable 2) Ludicrous or 3) Clever, insightful and impressive.
    I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that if your main character is psychologically unhinged then the chances of you outsmarting the bad guy in a way that’s plausible are slim unless the kidnapper is an idiot. And for the record, Hannibal Lector was a sociopath, but a psychopath, so he doesn’t count.

    • Amy
      May 2, 2012

      Thanks for your detailed comment, Pete! Unfortunately it’s not clever although there is some terrible outsmarting that goes on here. It’s certainly not one I would recommend. Radio 5 said its a good straight-to-DVD Friday night beer film, I would even disagree with that statement. I think it’s Rob’s worst film of the year so far.

      • Rob
        May 2, 2012

        You’re right, easily the worst film of the year, Haywire looks amazing compared to this. I just really didn’t enjoy it, I felt the main character wasn’t likeable at all and I wasn’t routing for her to find her sister. It was full of clichè and predictable plot points. Stay firmly away!

        • Amy
          May 7, 2012

          Haywire really does look amazing compared to this, but it doesn’t make me want to give Soderberg another chance! Certainly avoid at all costs.

  • Deryn
    April 28, 2012

    Nice review – this is one of those films where the trailer had me rolling my eyes after about 30 seconds… after reading this, I’m definitely going to wait until the blu-ray is here… and perhaps on sale.

    • Amy
      May 2, 2012

      Thanks for your comment, Deryn although I certainly don’t think this film is worthy of any blu ray player. It may only grace one’s screen if it just happens to be on ITV2 one Friday night. Even then I hope the watcher would quickly change channels

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: